Blood Test Watchdog
CostUpdated October 31, 2026

HSA and FSA Eligible Blood Tests (2026): 16 Services Checked

Which blood testing services accept HSA and FSA cards, which give an itemized receipt, when a letter of medical necessity helps, and what the IRS says counts.

By Julian Caraulani · Last updated

Cost

Quick answer
On October 31, 2026, 14 of the 16 blood testing services we checked said on their own pages that you can pay with an HSA or FSA; Labs by Hims and Maximus said nothing either way. Our pick for paying pre-tax is Superpower at $199 a year, about $3.69 per measured marker, because its FAQ offers a refund if your plan declines the claim (Superpower FAQ).

A card being accepted at checkout and a test being a qualified medical expense are two different things. The first is the seller's payment setup; the second is decided by your plan administrator under IRS rules. Below: what each service says, in its own words, what the IRS says counts, and how to keep the paperwork that gets a claim paid. Every service is ranked on the best blood tests page and priced per year on our cost page.

What each service says about HSA and FSA

Quoted from each provider's own page, read October 31, 2026. "Eligible" is the seller's claim, not a tax ruling.

Service What its page says Receipt or extra step Source
Function Health "HSA/FSA Eligible" next to the membership Receipt to submit to your plan Function FAQ
Superpower "Superpower is HSA/FSA eligible" Itemized receipt on request; refund before your first test if the claim is declined Superpower FAQ
Empirical Health "HSA/FSA eligible" Not stated Empirical
Mito Health "Mito Health is HSA/FSA eligible" Paid through its partner Flex Mito FAQ
SiPhox Health Says all products and services can be paid with an HSA or FSA Not stated SiPhox FAQ
Rythm Health "Rythm is HSA/FSA eligible" Receipt in the dashboard under Invoice History Rythm FAQ
Lifeforce "All plans are HSA/FSA Eligible" Not stated Lifeforce
InsideTracker HSA payment through Truemed Truemed process InsideTracker review
Everlywell 360 "FSA/HSA eligible, no hidden costs" Not stated Everlywell 360
LetsGetChecked "FSA & HSA cards accepted." Not stated LetsGetChecked
Quest (questhealth.com) "HSA and FSA cards are accepted at checkout" Order lookup and confirmation email Quest help center
Labcorp OnDemand "Most of our health tests are eligible; just use your card at checkout." Not stated Labcorp OnDemand
Personalabs "Some pre-paid debit cards and HSA cards can be used to pay for tests." Not stated Personalabs
Ulta Lab Tests Says it takes most HSA debit cards Not stated Ulta review
Labs by Hims No HSA or FSA statement found Not stated Hims Labs
Maximus No HSA or FSA statement found Not stated Maximus labs

None of these services bills insurance for the test itself. The full price, lab and state facts for each are on its review page, for example Function, Superpower and Quest.

What the IRS says counts

The starting point is IRS Publication 502: "You can include in medical expenses the amounts you pay for laboratory fees that are part of medical care." (IRS Publication 502). The phrase that matters is "part of medical care".

The IRS's own FAQ on wellness spending draws the line: "Medical expenses must be primarily to alleviate or prevent a physical or mental disability or illness. They don't include expenses that are merely beneficial to general health." (IRS FAQ). The same page treats a physical exam as a medical expense, and it treats a gym membership bought for general health as not one. A lab test ordered by a clinician sits closer to the first; a membership sold for general health optimization invites a closer look from your plan.

For a health FSA, the paperwork rule is explicit: "You must provide the health FSA with a written statement from an independent third party stating that the medical expense has been incurred and the amount of the expense." (IRS Publication 969). That is why an itemized receipt matters more than a logo at checkout.

Our #1 pick
Function Health
9.0/10Excellent
$365 /yr
  • Names its lab (Quest Diagnostics)
  • Clinician review
  • 48 states (not RI, HI)

Card at checkout vs reimbursement

There are two ways to use the account.

  1. Pay with the HSA or FSA debit card. Most of the services above accept it. Your administrator can still ask for proof later, so keep the receipt.
  2. Pay with your own card and claim it back. You submit an itemized receipt. Quest says "the order lookup and confirmation email should provide what most plans require" (Quest help center). Rythm says you can download the receipt from your dashboard (Rythm FAQ).

A receipt that helps a claim names the test or service, the date, the amount and the seller. A line that says only "membership" is the one most likely to be questioned.

Ranked on safety and priceSee every blood testing service side by side

Do you need a letter of medical necessity?

Sometimes. A letter of medical necessity is a clinician's note saying why a service treats or prevents a specific condition. Plans ask for one when a purchase could be general wellness, which is how many longevity memberships market themselves. Some sellers route HSA payments through a partner that arranges this step: InsideTracker uses Truemed, and Mito uses Flex. Whether your plan accepts that letter is up to the plan.

If you want to avoid the question, buy the specific tests your own clinician asked for at a lab store. Our guide to ordering your own blood test explains how those orders work, and our blood test cost without insurance guide prices common tests one by one.

The cheapest way to spend HSA money on blood work

Pre-tax money stretches further on a plan with a low cost per measured marker. Superpower at $3.69, Empirical Health at $2.88 and Function at $3.69 per measured marker are among the lowest we track; all three state HSA or FSA eligibility. For a handful of single tests, a lab store such as Ulta Lab Tests or Labcorp OnDemand can cost less overall. Our biomarker table shows which plan covers which marker, and the Function Health alternatives guide compares the memberships.

Questions

FAQ

Are blood tests HSA and FSA eligible?

Usually, when the test is part of medical care. IRS Publication 502 lets you include laboratory fees that are part of medical care, and 14 of the 16 services we checked say they accept HSA or FSA payment. Your plan administrator decides each claim, so keep an itemized receipt.

Is Function Health HSA eligible?

Function's own FAQ page shows "HSA/FSA Eligible" next to its $365 a year membership, and says it provides a receipt you can submit to your plan for its imaging add-ons. Whether your plan reimburses a wellness membership is its decision, not Function's.

Is Superpower FSA eligible?

Superpower's FAQ says it is HSA/FSA eligible, that members can request an itemized receipt by email, and that it will refund you before your first lab test if the reimbursement is declined. That refund offer is the clearest protection we found among memberships.

Do I need a letter of medical necessity for a blood test?

Not always. Plans tend to ask for one when a purchase looks like general wellness, such as a longevity membership, rather than a test a clinician ordered for a specific reason. Some sellers arrange one through a partner: InsideTracker uses Truemed and Mito uses Flex.

Can I use my HSA at Quest or Labcorp OnDemand?

Yes. Quest says HSA and FSA cards are accepted at checkout on questhealth.com, and that its order confirmation should give most plans what they require. Labcorp OnDemand says most of its tests are eligible and you can use your card at checkout.

Do any blood test memberships take insurance?

None of the memberships we track bills insurance for the testing itself; all are self-pay. Paying with an HSA or FSA is the usual way to use pre-tax money instead. Some providers' separate medical services accept insurance, which each review notes. Every plan above, priced per year and per measured marker, is on our [cost page](/cost).